What Is a Chakra ? The 7 Chakras for beginners

Regardless of whether you are familiar with holistic healing and topics such as spirituality, health, and wellbeing, you’ve probably heard of “chakra” many times before. For those of you who might have heard of it, but are unsure about what it is exactly, we’re going to explain everything here!

Your chakra basically relates to the energy of your body and soul i.e. a positive chakra means positive energy. There are seven different energy centers in your body which are known as chakras.

Throughout the next seven sections we’ll be talking about all of them and giving you information on what these areas relate to and how they affect you.

the 7 chakras in color, black bg, the yoga shop

The First Chakra

The first chakra is called “Muladhara” and simply means support. It generally relates to survival and how you can keep your whole body and soul aligned in a spiritual sense for maximum support and stability. This particular chakra is located at the base of your spine.

It’s important to keep the “Muladhara” in good condition because it opens us up to power and stability. A key symptom of this “Muladhara” failing is obesity – this chakra is all about understanding your body and appreciating it for what it is.


The Second Chakra

The second chakra is known as “Svadhisthana”, the location of this chakra is in the genitals and womb. This chakra is mainly related to the emotional and sensual aspects of our body and soul.

A failing “Svadhisthana” would show symptoms of bladder or kidney trouble, most likely because the element of the second chakra is water. A well-appreciated second chakra will improve your life in terms of emotions, pleasure, desire, creation and procreation, and much more.


The Third Chakra

The third chakra is called “Manipura” and is located in the area of the navel at your solar plexus (around the middle of the torso region). This chakra’s main function is willpower and belonging, in a way this “Manipura” also ties in with emotions.

If this “Manipura” was to fail the individual would experience decreased performance of their digestive system and muscles, their adrenals glands, and also perhaps their pancreas glands. A third chakra in good condition means the individual will feel a much greater sense of belonging and purpose.


The Fourth Chakra

The fourth chakra is known as “Anahata” and is located in the region of the heart – as you would imagine, this chakra is focused on love.

A failing “Anahata” could result in heart disease, lung disease, high blood pressure, asthma, and perhaps even some other problems – so it’s important to keep it in good condition. This chakra flourishes when the individual feels a sense of love within themselves, not necessarily with others.


The Fifth Chakra

The fifth chakra is “Visuddha” and is located at the area of the throat. This chakra relates to the purification of the individual but also relates to aspects such as creativity and communication – as you might expect.

When this “Visuddha” isn’t in good health you might experience problems such as a sore throat, a stiff neck, hearing problems, thyroid problems, and more.


The Sixth Chakra

The sixth is known as “Ajna” and is located in the head. As you can imagine, this chakra relates to knowledge and the associated element is light. It also ties in with being able to see the things around you and being aware.

A failing sixth chakra could result in headaches, blurred vision, nightmares, eyestrain, and maybe even blindness.


The Seventh Chakra

The seventh is known as “Sahasrara” and can be found just at the top of the head. It represents thought and the ultimate manifestation and realization of knowledge. This is an important chakra and when neglected the whole body’s nervous system can be affected.

When this “Sahasrara” is properly nourished the individual can expect to be taken to a place of greater consciousness.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *